More Catching Up

img_2274

This is the ‘beef’ pie that I made, no recipe for it as I just threw things in as I went along.  I used tvp chunks, whatever vegetables I could find in the fridge and freezer, bisto granules and some frozen puff pastry.  It was really tasty and we all enjoyed it, the boys love anything with puff pastry and roastie tatoes!

img_2275

This is Basmati Rice With Chard and Chickpeas from Veganomicon.  It’s supposed to have fresh dill in it, but as you know if you’ve been reading for any length of time, dill is on my ‘work of the devil’ list so it wasn’t included.  It’s a really simple dish with shallots, onion, cumin seeds, garam masala, chard, chickpeas, stock, lemon zest, lemon juice and cayenne.  I used brown basmati as you can see and it did take much longer to cook and needed a lot more liquid added.  I’ll try it again in the future with white basmati as well as we all enjoyed it.

Two things with no photos, I made Sausage and Potato Skillet from Everyday Vegan.  It could be a breakfast dish as well as a dinner dish and is basically a combination of sausages, potatoes, onion, garlic, red pepper, tofu and some stock and liquid aminos.  It was incredibly tasty and we all really loved it.  I will definitely be making it again and will try and remember to take a photo next time!

I think I wrote about this with the menus but I didn’t tag it so I’ll add it again.  From The Vegan Gourmet my Mother and I worked together on a knitting night and made Vermicelli with Curried Eggplant and Chard in Ginger Tomato Sauce.  Well, we used the recipe but used different noodles and mushrooms instead of aubergine as it’s one of the few vegetables I don’t like!  This dish won’t be repeated as neither of the boys or my Mother enjoyed it…

From Yellow Rose Recipes I made the White Beans and Kale.  I guess I should have realised from the ingredients list what a plain dish this would be but I didn’t and was quite disappointed with it.  I used canned beans but I don’t think that made much difference and served it with rice.  I won’t be making this again, I think it is more suited as a side dish or as a vegetable dish for a buffet than a main meal.  I can’t remember another disappointment from this book though so there had to be one at some point!

Believe it or not there’s still more to come!

So, what do you think?

