Almost There!

img_2292

This is  Seitan Scaloppine with Lemon Sauce from Fat Free Vegan.  I served it with boiled potatoes and roasted celeriac which was very tasty. This recipe had a few steps but was pretty easy to follow.  I really liked the seitan cutlets and will use that recipe again in the future but I wasn’t much of a fan of the lemon sauce and neither were the boys.

img_2293

I’ve made this twice now and am trying not to make it again as it’s so moorish!  It’s the Carmel Popcorn from The Joy of Vegan Baking.  It’s very easy but does take a bit of time as you bake it for an hour to get that extra crunch.  I’ve tried it with dry roasted and plain salted peanuts and actually don’t mind it one way or the other.  I will be making this again and again, it’s very like Crackerjacks which I love and can’t buy over here.  I’m not sure what I’ll sub for the corn syrup when my bottle runs out as that’s not easily available over here either, I’ll worry about that when I get to it though, I’ve still got three quarters of a bottle left!

img_2307

This is Spicy Tofu Broccoli Rabe with Rotelle from Veganomicon.  It should have been tempeh but I always sub tofu instead.  It was a really easy dish to do and we all enjoyed it.  The tempeh/tofu is braised in broth, soy sauce, tomato puree, garlic, red pepper flakes, oregano and red wine vinegar.  There should have been fennel seeds in there too but I don’t have as I don’t like the flavour.  You cook the broccoli (I used purple sprouting) with garlic, white wine, balsamic vinegar (or red wine but I love balsamic) and pepper and then mix it all together with the pasta.

img_2308

This is another one from Soup Kitchen, Root Soup with Cheese Scones. You roast some of the vegetables (carrots, sweet potatoes and parsnips) and then add onions, leeks, celery, cumin seeds, red pepper flakes and stock to it for the soup.  The scones were the best I’ve ever made and I’ll be using this recipe (with or without cheese in them) in the future as usually my scones don’t rise very well!  The boys loved the scones and enjoyed the soup too so definitely a keeper!

That’s all the stuff that’s been on my computer waiting to be written about.  I still have 2 vegetable boxes to write about though and some stuff from the first box that I’ve made, just need to do the menu for the second box and then I can get fully up to date!

2 thoughts on “Almost There!

So, what do you think?

