The Weight Thing Again

Before Christmas I was doing really well with my weight loss and was exercising regularly.  I had lost 30lbs and was working out every other day, sometimes doing more than other days, but still I was doing something.  Since Christmas however I’ve stopped exercising completely and have gained back about 8lbs.  My clothes are starting to fit me badly again and I’m unfit and fed up with it all.

I’ve had issues with my weight since I was a teenager.  My main ‘problem’ is that I love food and that I don’t like to exercise.  I like to eat and once I get started I don’t want to stop.  I generally overeat and even if I’m eating healthy food it’s still not good for my body.

So, to make myself more accountable I’m going to start posting about my meals and exercise on here.  I understand it can be pretty dull to read about so I’m sorry if I bore you away with it.  I just need a big push to get myself going again and once I get into the routine I will probably stop having to post all the time about it.

I wish I were someone who liked to exercise but sadly I’m just not.  Also, finding the time to do it can be a problem for me.  My mornings are the time I do what I want to do while Piggle has his nap, afternoons I do stuff around the house before picking up Jim from school and then once Jim is home it’s the long haul until bedtime.  Once the boys are asleep I often find that I’m just too tired to get up and exercise (plus I’ve eated my main meal so I need to wait to digest it which means it’s even later and I’m even more tired).  I am thinking of trying to get up earlier in the mornings before the boys wake up and exercising then.  I have no idea if it will work as it could wake Jim up too but I’m going to give it a go.

I also want to try and buy an exercise bike, or find one on Freecycle if I can before I have to spend the money.  That way I can sit in front of the tv on it or with a book proped on it and work out in my own home.  Joining a gym is not an option as I have no one to look after the boys and if I’m having trouble exercising in my own home then getting in the car and going somewhere to exercise isn’t going to work.  I’m a homebody at heart and once I’m in I tend to want to stay in!  I also have some yoga dvds that I bought with Christmas money that I’ve not used and I would like to try and work those in a few times a week to get more flexible and tone my body (any recommendations for good yoga dvds for beginners?).

So, today is the first day and my stats are as follows:

Weight: 2o8 lbs (14 stone 12 lbs)

I may put my measurements up at some point but the weight is embarrassing enough for now!

My first goal is to get to 168lbs (12 stone) and then I will see from there what size I am and whether I want to go smaller.  My body shape has changed since having kids and I need to do a lot of work around my stomach so I may need to loose more weight to get it flat enough that I don’t feel despair every time I see myself sideways in a mirror!

Todays food:

Breakfast: Smoothie of 2 bananas, half a mango, soya milk, 1 Tbsp flax seeds and 1 Tbsp sunflower butter.  There was tons of this (I’m not an experienced smoothie maker yet!) so I kept the leftovers in the fridge for snacks during the day.

Lunch: 2 wholemeal pita bread with Chipotle Lime Hummus and carrot sticks and a glass of water.

Dinner: Medium portion of risotto.

Drinks: 1 cup of black decaf coffee with 2 sugars (my daily coffee is something I refuse to give up!), 1 vodka and tonic and the rest of the smoothie in the afternoon.  I know I need to consume more liquid, I have to find a way to remember and build it up slowly so I don’t end up spending all day in the toilet!

This is actually a bad week to start dieting food wise as I don’t have much food in the house and I’m broke until next weekhaving spent all the money when we visited my sister 2 weekends ago!  However if I can’t find a totally healthy option I am just going to try and eat less of whatever I make for dinner each night rather than stuffing myself silly.

My main goal in all of this is to be a healthier person.  I want to make exercise a habit in my life and eating healthily the same way.  Most of our meals are vegetable based and we do eat a varied diet as you will know if you’ve been reading for any length of time but I can make it much better and I want to try and get more raw foods into my diet if I can.  Salad season is almost here and I’m looking forward to my huge salads at lunchtime after a winter without them!  I’m considering doing a cleanse at some point as well so if anyone can suggest one that they’ve tried that won’t stop me from looking after my kids (can’t be fasting with 2 energetic boys in the house!) and won’t cost me a fortune in supplements etc I’d love to hear about it.

Don’t worry I will still be posting about what I make and other vegany things, but this is something that is high on my list of things to work on and I’d appreciate any support, hints, tips, success stories etc that you guys can offer.  I want to get to a place where I’m happy with my body and am eating and exercising in a way that maintains the body shape I achieve.  I want this to be the last time I ever have to ‘diet’, this has gone on for half my life now and it’s time it stopped and I got control of my body once and for all!

6 thoughts on “The Weight Thing Again

  1. Do you walk much?? I too hate exercise and eat too much but I do an awful lot of walking. I walk to and from work, to the supermarket etc. That’s something you could do with the pushchair while Jim is at school and would be muich easier now the weather is getting nicer. Just a thought and good luck!

  2. I generally only use one banana per smoothie and it usually makes about a pint of smoothie, my bf’s favourite is one banana, one small avocado, about half a cup of blueberries and enough apple juice to blend it. What sort of workouts do you do? I haven’t posted any of mine for a while as I’ve had lots of uni work and not much time to blog but I might be able to help you find some more exciting workouts to do 🙂

  3. Well you know me, forever struggling with maintenance! And exercise, I think either you’re a person where it comes naturally and you do it for fun, or it doesn’t come naturally and you do it because you know you have to. In an ideal world, I could eat what I want and would not have to exercise 😉 Keep us posted – the first week is always the hardest, until you see some results.

  4. HI Anna! I feel your pain! Have been fighting my weight my entire life, as well. It is always easier in the summer, though, isn’t it? Smoothies for breakfast, a big salad for lunch. As long as I do that I feel like I can experiment a little more with dinner! Food is my problem, nit exercising (I love working out and do it every day–once you start it becomes an addiction!)

  5. I am also an exercise hater. I want to be fit and active (run, jump, climb trees) but that initial period of becoming an athlete is just crap and hard. I need to do it though. I feel like it’s just another step closer to happiness (and getting rid of the last of my pudge) so I’m with you there.
    It’s too bad you’re no where near me, I’m moving and need to off load my exercise bike, hehe.

So, what do you think?

