Going Raw

The boys are with their Dad for a week now so I’m taking the opportunity to kick start some healthy eating by going raw for the week.  As I’ve said I don’t see myself becoming totally raw ever, I just can’t imagine giving up my cooked food or the enjoyment that I get from cooking.  However, I do know that by eating more raw foods I can be a lot more healthy and it should help with the weight loss I’m trying to achieve.  I will see how raw I want to be after this week and I’m really looking forward to having a go at it and throwing myself into it.

I did consider being raw until dinner for the week but I know that if I do that I will just eat something totally unhealthy in the evenings and not do myself any good.  I’m expecting that I will have some detox symptoms along the way as my system isn’t used to eating raw and I will have to slowly reintroduce cooked foods once the week is over so as not to undo all the good work I’ve done and not to shock my system too much.

I have gone through the books I bought and have found that the Raw Food Real World and Living Raw Food books are the most inspiring.  They do have complicated restaurant recipes that I will probably never try but they are beautiful books, I can see why they aren’t that cheap to buy.  They have proper slip covers and are hard backed with lovely glossy pictures in them, a real joy to read for someone who loves books as much as I do.  The Ani Phyllo one was the next most inspiring, although I find her use of large amounts of nuts and oils (some soup recipes call for 3/4 of a cup of olive oil which sounds horrible to eat) a little worrying.  The detox books are actually the least inspiring for me and they rely too heavily on shop bought foods for my liking (also that’s of very little use to me as you can’t get the products she calls for over here and if I could find them I probably couldn’t afford them).   The only thing I don’t like about the Pure books and the Ani Phylo book is the same thing I have a problem with when it comes to La Dolce Vegan, why the hell do we need 40 pictures of the author??  I would much rather spend my money on pictures of the food than on pictures of the same person eating food, working out, looking moody, contemplating life etc etc etc, after the first 10 pictures it just becomes annoying.

So, my general rule for the week is to eat as much raw as I can.  There will be exceptions such as my nori which came pre-toasted (and I’ve never seen any that isn’t although I going to a China Town on Wednesday so I will have a look there) and the tahini I found which doesn’t actually say raw on the jar but says that the seeds weren’t toasted first.  I have a list of nuts and seeds to get tomorrow, a fridge stuffed with vegetables and a dehydrator on it’s way to me (I’m hoping it will arrive tomorrow).  Wine is allowed but I won’t be drinking beer or spirits for this week.

I sat down with my books and came up with dishes that I’d like to make so that I don’t have to search for something to make at the last minute (which doesn’t work when you need to dehydrate it!) and so that I have ingredients to hand.

Breakfasts

Buckwheat Crispies with fruit, nuts and almond milk (shop boght as organic almonds cost a fortune and I don’t want to spend all my time alone in the kitchen!) from Ani Phylo (AP)

Banana Raisin Oatmeal AP

Coconut Breakfast Cakes AP (will have any leftovers as snacks)

Cranberry Maple Granola Raw Food Real World (RFRW) if I don’t find any reasonably priced maple syrup tomorrow I will use agave in it.

Snacks

Spicy Chili Lime Almonds RFRW

Spicy Flax and Herb Crackers RFRW

Chocolate Coconut Truffles Living Raw Food (LRF)

Sun Dried Tomato Hummus AP

Black Olive Hummus AP (I don’t know if my olives are raw but they’re organic…)

Black Sesame Sunflower Bread AP

Garden Pate AP

Meals

Sun Burgers AP

Zucchini Pasta with Tomato and Basil Sauce LRF

Falafel and Tabolleh LRF

Sweetcorn Chowder AP

Taco Nut Meat, Baja Cheze and Red Pepper Corn Salsa in cabbage leaves AP

Ricotta Cheeze with vegetable pasta and Sun Dried Tomato Marinara AP

I will also be juicing each morning, having smoothies and eating mainly salads with the crackers for lunch so I’ll be trying out salad dressing recipes as they take my fancy.  I’m making half recipes of all these meals as they tend to be written to feed 4 and I don’t want tons of leftovers, one of the LRF recipes serves 6-8 so I’m making a third of it!

I’m excited to give this a go, I am going to see how I feel about exercising (maybe some walking as I am on my own or some yoga if I’m up to it) but the food is the main issue this week really, figuring out what is healthy and what is tasty and what makes me feel good and helps with the weight loss and general well being.  I don’t know if I’ll post every day but I will try and get some pictures and recipe reviews up in case anyone is interested and to keep a record of what I’ve tried.

Posted in raw

3 thoughts on “Going Raw

  1. I’ll look forward to hearing of your progress. I’ve been having some luck with the raw-til-dinner approach and hope to continue that for a while! Good Luck!

  2. Pingback: Twitted by RawAndFit

  3. I’ll look forward to hearing of your progress. I’ve been having some luck with the raw-til-dinner approach and hope to continue that for a while! Good Luck!
    Oops…forgot to say great post! Looking forward to your next one.

So, what do you think?

