Living My Life

mofo

IMG_3291

So, recently I’ve been trying to get back to doing stuff with my life rather than spending it all in this chair looking at the computer.  This means that I’m WAY behind on reading MoFo posts and I haven’t had time to post blog entries either…  I’m going to try and keep blogging each day until the end of MoFo and that should give me enough entries as we’re not required to post on weekends, sorry for the blog silence though!

This was my dinner on Saturday night as the boys were away at their Dad’s and I really fancied nachos!  I used a can of refried beans, made some guacamole and used the Nacho Cheese recipe from The Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook along with some jarred salsa.  It was incredibly tasty and I really enjoyed it!

I am a bit of a purist when it comes to guacamole.  I don’t agree that tomatoes are a necessary ingredient and I can’t understand shop bought guacamole that has sour cream in it, what are they trying to achieve with that?  I think that guacamole should contain avocado, garlic, salt and either lemon or lime juice (I prefer the lime myself) and that’s all.  I feel sort of the same way about humus, I don’t think you can just blend any bean with whatever seasonings you want and declare that it’s humus, it’s bean dip or spread, humus has chickpeas, tahini, garlic, oil and salt in it, end of story for me!

I got a copy of Vegan Yum Yum in the post today.  I had wanted to get it for a while but it’s a bit expensive.  However, after seeing some of the stuff made from it popping up in MoFo posts I went ahead and snagged myself a copy and I’m glad I did.  There are several things in it I’m planning to make soon as I can and one dish that will be made for our dinner tonight.  I can see why the price tag was so high for it, lots of glossy photographs and colours which makes it very pretty to look through (although I don’t think these things are always necessary and I hate to think of the environmental impact of glossy paper and glossy photographs).  I added it to my Library Thing list and according to that I am the proud owner of 174 cookbooks, I was estimating around 150 so I’m obviously behind in my counting!

I have also been thinking about why I didn’t cook very much over the summer and have come to the realisation that I am just not much of a fan of summer food.  Well, that’s not true, I like a good huge salad with the best of them but that kind of meal doesn’t mix too well with small children unfortunately.  I really prefer fall and winter cooking, casseroles, stews, pasta dishes etc.  That is my kind of cooking and the type of meal that I like to eat but it often isn’t suitable for warmer weather so I tend to get a bit stumped as to what to make.  Now that the weather is cooler and we can start enjoying the heartier meals I’m looking forward to more time in the kitchen!

I made this years apple butter yesterday and it came out really well, I then went to make apple jelly for Jim as it’s his favourite and we used the last jar up a few months back, only to discover that the apples that my sister gave me had gone rotten.  My Mum is collecting some more for me today so I will get on with that jam this weekend and make a little boy happy!

2 thoughts on “Living My Life

  1. I LOVE nachos!!! And now you’ve got me cravin’ some…with nacho cheeze and guac for sure (I do put tomatoes in mine though). Glad to hear that Vegan Yum Yum is great. Of course, I expected that. But now I really must buy it!

So, what do you think?

