Red and White Cauliflower Bake

mofoAfter flicking through Vegan Yum Yum and seeing that there were quite a few things I’d love to try I managed to match up a recipe to thing that I had on hand and made this dish last night.

IMG_3325

It’s a layered casserole with ricotta tofu at the bottom (you add cornstarch so that layer sets solid), a layer of cauliflower with a cheesy sauce, a layer of simple marinara sauce and then breadcrumbs on top.

IMG_3326

As you can see my dish was a little bit small so it overflowed slightly in the oven but the layers remained as layers which was fun.  When I served it they didn’t stay layered though, I either didn’t leave it to sit long enough or I’m just a bit rubbish with my serving (probably the latter!).

I thought this was very tasty, the layers are very strong in flavour but they work well together.  The only thing I will change next time I make it is to add less herbs to the tofu layer.  The instructions call for ‘1 package extra firm tofu’ but there’s no indication of how big the package is.  Cauldron organic tofu comes in 8oz blocks and I think that is probably smaller than the amount of the ‘block’ the recipe means (most US vegan cookbooks using tofu call for 1lb of tofu) as the herbs were a bit too much.

I had the leftovers for lunch today and they reheated very well.  Both boys ate this with some encouragement.  I just told Jim it had ‘vegetables in a cheesy sauce’ rather than cauliflower or he wouldn’t have touched it!

So I’m very happy with my first outing for this book. There are tons of tofu dishes in it that I want to try but I can’t get away with serving tofu more than once or twice a week or Jim complains so I’ll have to work my way through them over time.  There’s another casserole that I may try over the weekend, I’m getting backed up with stuff I want to make from reading the MoFo posts and being inspired!

Before I made the dinner last night I made a double batch of the granola from How It All Vegan.  I love that recipe and hadn’t made any in ages.  I didn’t have any dried cranberries so I put a little extra of the coconut, dates and raisins in which worked out fine.  I had a bowl this morning with a banana on top and some rice milk and it was lovely.  When I finally get around to doing things like this I wonder why I don’t make the effort more often.  Mind you if I cooked half as much as I think about cooking I would have a lot more weight to loose than I do so perhaps my laziness is a good thing!

3 thoughts on “Red and White Cauliflower Bake

  1. We’ve always been very pleased with the dishes we’ve made form the Vegan Yum Yum blog, and I’m looking forward to seeing what else you make from the cookbook.

  2. I’m loving this cookbook. I made this same recipe this week as well as the pearl barley risotto and they both are so good and have reheated well, too. I love Vegan Yum Yum!

  3. Pingback: Red and White Cauliflower Bake (again) « Vegan Food For Thought

So, what do you think?

