Beefy Seitan Roast

mofoIMG_3335

Someone else cooked this for MoFo, I can’t remember the name of the blog now, but having never used my copy of Cooking With PETA I decided to give it a go for a Sunday roast dinner.

It’s pretty easy to make, just mix it all together, cover it with the stock and then put it in the oven for an hour and a half.  I didn’t lower the temperature of the oven like the instructions said as 300 degrees would have been too low to get decent roast potatoes so I left it at 350 for the entire cooking time.  I’m not convinced that it actually would have cooked fully at the lower temperature either as it was only just done at the higher one.

After it was done I put it in another dish without any stock and stuck it back in the over for 20 minutes to dry it off and brown it a little bit.

I didn’t add the browning to the roast or the stock as I didn’t like the idea of putting some chemical thing into my food so I used liquid aminos (or is that animos, I can never remember and I’m too lazy to get up and check the bottle!) instead and the taste and colour were fine.

Jim really enjoyed his and ate almost all of the 2 slices I cut for him.  Piggle liked the taste but it was a bit too chewy for him as he doesn’t have a full set of teeth yet.  I thought the taste was really nice but the outside was a bit spongy, the inside was nice and firm though.

IMG_3336

That’s what we have left (minus a slice I had for lunch today) so I will be making something else with seitan in it this week.

I will definitely try it again in the future, I’m not sure what to change to get rid of the sponginess though.  The recipe says that you can cook it in the slow cooker but it takes 10 hours.  That would mean either putting it on really early in the morning (we try to eat at 6 at the latest as the boys are only 6 and 2 years old) or put it on right before bed and reheat it later.

Anyway, it was a nice change as we don’t normally eat seitan plain like that and I don’t do gravy very often!  The carrots were also roasted so I didn’t have to tend to anything while dinner was cooking which was nice too!

So, what do you think?

