Asian Baked Tofu and Whole-Grain Mustard and Cornmeal Crusted Seitan

Obviously we didn’t eat the two together!

I really like this Asian Baked Tofu from The Candle Cafe Cookbook, I’m sure I’ve blogged it before.  I don’t add all the water that the recipe calls for as I think it takes away from a bit of the flavour.  This time I added in some pomegranate syrup that I found in Sainsburys.  I know I’ve seen a recipe for pomegranate tofu, so if you know which book or website I saw it in/on please let me know because I’ve not found it yet!

I served the tofu with quinoa cooked with a little bit of the syrup and tamari and some stir fried vegetables.  The boys both enjoy the tofu and I had the leftovers on a salad which was really nice.

I used the new Cauldron tofu for this dish and I don’t think it’s quite as good as the one we tested or the old formula.  It seems to be softer and falls apart more easily.  I’m going back to Clear Spot tofu from now on which is organic and very firm, my health food shop can order in the large blocks for me for about the same price as Cauldron are now charging for non-organic tofu so I’m happy with that.

This is my first foray into Vegan Soul Kitchen.  I think I mentioned that I made up a double batch of the seitan from 1000 Vegan Recipes and froze most of it.  It was great when I fancied having seitan for dinner to be able to just pull enough out of the freezer.

Posting interrupted by the delivery of my pre-ordered copy of Vegan on the Cheap by Robin Robertson!

On a side note I don’t freeze my seitan in the liquid as most recipes tell you to do.  One, it takes up too much room in the freezer which is already stuffed to the gills and two, it came out quite soggy and spongy when I defrosted it.  Instead I squeeze out some of the liquid from it with my hands and then freeze it on baking trays, once it’s solid I stick it in freezer bags.

This recipe called for 1 pound of seitan and it made enough for about 5 portions (recipe says 4-6 so I guess it was actually right!), so next time I will probably half it.  The ingredients are really simple, as is the method, but it does make some really tasty seitan!  I didn’t have quite enough whole grain mustard but with feeding two small boys I didn’t want to slather it with the stuff or they’d not have touched it so it didn’t matter.  They both ate it, although Piggle isn’t a fan of seitan as it requires too much chewing for his patience.

I had some of the leftovers on another salad with some ranch dressing, of course it wasn’t crispy anymore but the combination was great, so maybe I won’t half the recipe next time afterall!

One thought on “Asian Baked Tofu and Whole-Grain Mustard and Cornmeal Crusted Seitan

  1. There is a recipe in Vegan with a Vengeance for BBQ Pomegranate Tofu on page 148, don’t know if that’s the one you mean. It may be in Veganomicon as well but i can’t check as I haven’t got a copy of this anymore (boo-hoo).

So, what do you think?

