Cauliflower Pasta Crisp

It’s really hard to get a decent picture of a pasta bake…

This recipe is from 500 Vegan Recipes which has joined the short list of the first few books I reach for when I’m looking for something to make for dinner.  There are some fabulous things in here and I am enjoying trying them out and looking forward to trying more.

I had a cauliflower that I wanted to use and up popped this recipe (on a side note the only thing I don’t like about the book is that the recipe titles aren’t listed in the index, under cauliflower you just get a list of page numbers and have to check each page to see what the recipe is) and as I had everything it called for to hand I decided to give it a go.  Sometimes I really don’t read recipes through well before I start cooking and this was one of those times, I got to cumin in the ingredients list and realised that this wasn’t your typical Italian style pasta bake.  I wasn’t upset or worried, just surprised and once again reminded myself that I need to read better before I start cooking!

This is a great dish for kids if they like cumin-flavoured food (luckily mine do as cumin is my all time favourite spice).  The cauliflower is blended into the sauce so they don’t even know it’s there which is fabulous for me as my boys won’t eat cauliflower if they know it’s there.  Also, the topping contains walnuts and the sauce has tahini in it so it’s a great way to get nuts and seeds into them (mine pick them out normally).  When I served up the boy’s meals I made sure I mixed the topping through the pasta so that they had to eat it and they did without complaint.

I’ll definitely be making this one again, we love a good pasta bake in this house and finding a new style and flavour beyond the usual ones I make is great!

One thought on “Cauliflower Pasta Crisp

  1. 500 Vegan Recipes is awesome! I’ll have to look for that recipe. I’m still working my way through the breakfast section. Next up — muffins! There are so many yummy-looking muffin recipes in there.

So, what do you think?

