BBQ Pomegranate Tofu with Coconut Rice

Carol very kindly reminded me in the comments that the recipe I was thinking of for my pomegranate molasses was in VWaV so I stuck the book on the counter and made sure I bought the missing ingredients when I went shopping.

This is pretty easy to make, you bake the tofu while you make the sauce and then dump it on top and bake it some more.  The recipe makes far too much sauce in my opinion.  I have half of it in the freezer for later use (I’m thinking it would be nice in Back Yard BBQ Chili from Vegan Planet) and next time I need to make the sauce I will only make half.

The only changes I made were to use agave rather than maple syrup (I don’t have the funds for organic maple syrup and if I did I’d never use a 1/4 cup of it in one recipe!) and I used chipotle Tabasco as my hot sauce as I don’t have any other kind in the house.

The rice I’ve made before and this time I actually bought Jasmine rice to use.  However, I had the same results again, there just wasn’t enough liquid to cook the rice and I burnt it quite severely to the bottom of the pan.  I didn’t use the toasted coconut on top as I knew the kids wouldn’t touch it.

Jim enjoyed the tofu and picked at the rice (he’s not much of a rice fan) and Piggle had a major meltdown and refused to eat more than 2 mouthfuls of it, he’s going through a picky phase at the moment where getting any dinner down him is a chore, it’s quite frustrating to say the least.

Anyway, the tofu is a winner but I’m not sure I’ll bother with the rice again unless I buy a rice cooker.  Can anyone recommend one that will cook enough rice for 4 but won’t take up my whole countertop?

3 thoughts on “BBQ Pomegranate Tofu with Coconut Rice

  1. I don’t know of any rice cookers but i have a foolproof method of doing plain boiled (white) rice if anyone’s interested in that, from a curry club book i found in a second hand shop. So simple but it never fails.

So, what do you think?

