Three-Bean Loaf

I fancied a loaf of some kind for dinner, I don’t often cook this type of meal for some reason, I should really try it more, especially as it’s usually pretty easy.

The three bean types in the loaf are black beans, chickpeas and kidney beans, all of which I had to hand, in fact everything for this meal was already in my kitchen which made it an incredibly cheap meal to make!

Besides the beans there is celery, carrot, onion, ketchup, soy sauce, oats, breadcrumbs, vital wheat gluten, mustard, sugar, cider vinegar and garlic.  You make a mixture of the ketchup, mustard, vinegar and sugar to go on top of the loaf which gives it some moisture.

I really enjoyed this meal, the loaf held together well and was filling and tasty.  The boys ate quite a bit of it too, especially the roast potatoes which Robin Robertson suggests you cook alongside it as you’ve got the oven on already.

I’m sure I’ll make this again in the future, it lasted well in the fridge and reheated well for lunches, if I were into sandwiches I think it would work well between two slices of bread as well.

3 thoughts on “Three-Bean Loaf

  1. Very cool! I’ve never made a vegan “meatloaf” before, but I’ve been meaning to try one. Come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve ever had any kind of meatloaf, which is probably why I’m so scared to try it! Yours looks great though, and so simple!

So, what do you think?

