Lemony Chard Stuffed Shells

This recipe is from Pasta For All Seasons by Robin Robertson.  I have never seen giant shell pasta in the UK but I remembered that I had some organic lasagne in the back of the cupboard so I pulled it out, soaked it in boiling water for about 10 minutes and then rolled it up with the filling inside.

The sauce is another recipe in the book and it was very simple to make and very tasty.  I don’t think I’ve bought pasta sauce in a jar for a couple of years now, it’s just so easy to make and the flavour is so much nicer if you do it yourself.

The filling is a combination of the chard, onions, mushrooms, tofu and vegan parmesan along with some lemon juice.  The recipe calls for fresh lemon juice but I never have any lemons around so I used my usual organic bottled stuff.  It also calls for 1/3 cup of parmesan, that’s about the whole container of Parmazano and that stuff isn’t cheap!  Instead I put in a good handful of nutritional yeast and then a few tablespoons of the parmesan and it tasted just fine.

The boys really enjoyed the meal and Jim ate his greens.  Piggle as per usual worked around them and mainly ate the pasta, that boy has a will of iron and refuses to put anything leafy in his mouth unless forced to and he then refuses to chew it…

It was great to find a new pasta dish to try, I get kind of stuck with mac and cheese, pasta bakes and spaghetti, I have two pasta only cookbooks now along with a ton of recipes in other books so I really have no excuse other than laziness for not cooking more of a variety of dishes…

So, what do you think?

