Veggie ‘Meat’ Loaf

I fancied something filling and loafy to go with potatoes and vegetables so I hunted around and came up with this meatloaf recipe from Vegan Comfort Food.  It was pretty easy and I had almost everything to hand for it so it went together fast.

As you can see I lined the pan with baking paper rating than oiling it, it also proved handy for removing the loaf from the pan as I just lifted it out! I replaced the pepper with courgette and that worked out just fine, although peppers are probably more traditional!

There are oats, tvp, liquid smoke,  onion, Worcestershire sauce, stock, ketchup, wheat gluten and spices in it.  I didn’t quite have enough wheat gluten as I’d not placed a new order for any (all stocked up now!) so I just used a little bit of flour along with what I had and that seemed to work just fine.  I steam fried the onion and courgette rather than using oil.

I finally got Piggle to eat broccoli too using the ages old ‘they’re trees’ tactic! He really enjoyed them so now he’s got the taste hopefully I can keep him eating them when they start to come in our organic box again (the broccoli season seems to go on forever and I’m fed up with it by the time it ends!).

One word of warning about this recipe, it uses a TON of ketchup!  It calls for 1 3/4 cups in total, I used a whole bottle plus the end of the old one in it!  This does make it pretty expensive to make if you use organic ketchup but it did give it a good flavour.

I ate the leftovers of this mixed in with rice and some veggies and it was great and kept really well in the fridge for a few days.  I think it would freeze just fine too though as half a loaf would feed the 3 of us which would spread the cost over 2 meals.

Another winner from this handy book, I don’t think I’ve made anything from it that I haven’t liked and there are still a ton more recipes I want to try!

One thought on “Veggie ‘Meat’ Loaf

  1. I’ll have to look out for that book. I’m interested as to where buy the liquid smoke as I’ve never seen it anywhere and it’s in a lot of recipes I’ve seen that I fancy trying.

So, what do you think?

