Curry Chickpea Hummus and Tofu and Vegetable Lo Mein

Mine wasn’t a chick pea hummus as I was all out so I used butter beans instead and they were lovely and creamy in this dip.  I changed the olive oil to water and left out the agave nectar that is called for and didn’t think that it actually needed either.

This is a lovely combination of curry flavours and right at the end you pulse in some raisins which add a great texture and sweetness to it.  I really enjoyed this and I’m sure I’ll make it again in the future, especially as I didn’t actually get to finish it before it went off!

This is from Vegan Planet, I should really use this book more as there are so many recipes in it that sound lovely.

I used brown rice udon noodles and swapped the snow peas for fresh peas that came in our organic box.  I also used regular onion instead of spring onions (scallions) as I can’t seem to find organic ones very often.  I did use the sesame oil in this dish, it’s the only oil I kept in my kitchen (I gave the rest to my sister and brother-in-law) as it has such a distinctive taste to it and you don’t need to use very much of it, this recipe called for 2 tsps and that was plenty to give the flavour without making it too greasy.

I browned the tofu in a non-stick pan with no oil at all and it worked really well, it came out nice and crispy without being greasy and as I remembered to keep the heat at a medium level it didn’t burn or stick at all.

We all really enjoyed this and I’m sure I’ll make it again in the future!

2 thoughts on “Curry Chickpea Hummus and Tofu and Vegetable Lo Mein

  1. I don’t look in Vegan planet enough either, but I took 1,000 Vegan Recipes to bed for a read last night and felt the same. Her ideas are very creative, but I sometimes find they need a bit of extra oomph.

  2. I also neglect my copy of Vegan Planet. I used it quite a bit when I first got it, but happens with all my cookbooks, I end up forgetting about it in favor of whatever’s new. Not to mention that the size of the book can be a little intimidating for an indecisive person like me. So many choices.

So, what do you think?

