Soba Noodles with Mushrooms

This was the first outing for Speed Vegan, I pulled it off the shelf after I realised that I’d wasted half of my dinner making time sorting out my cookbook collection and making the stacks of books less precarious.

I didn’t have any shiitake or oyster mushrooms, you very rarely see them over here unless you shop in Waitrose and I’ve never seen organic ones in the shops.  Instead I just used white mushrooms.  I also didn’t have pre-cooked soba noodles so it took a little longer than the recipe would usually while I cooked them.

It looks very brown but soba, mushrooms and tamari are all brown so there’s no escaping it!

I did use the toasted sesame oil this time but you really couldn’t taste it so I won’t be adding the unnecessary oil next time I make this.  I didn’t have any Sriacha sauce, I must try to find some sometime, I had organic harissa in the fridge so I stuck half the amount called for in the recipe in and it gave it a nice little bit of heat that wasn’t too much for the boys.  I also substituted arame for the dulse as I didn’t have any and halved the amount so that the boys wouldn’t notice there was seaweed in it and would eat it (they didn’t and they did!).  I only had one spring onion left rather than the whole bunch of scallions called for so I threw it in but I also added a regular onion which I fried a bit at the start to soften it.

Jim was really funny when I asked him what he thought.  He said he liked it but didn’t want me to make it again because it was disgusting…  Once I puzzled it out it turned out he didn’t like the spring onion or the sesame seeds but he liked the rest!

As I said, I’ll be making this again.  It was really fast, even with the extra noodle cooking and very tasty.  It has lime juice in it which makes it a winner for me as it’s one of my favourite flavours.  I think you could add any vegetables really as long as you stir fried them a little before adding the noodles.

So, what do you think?

