Apple Cake

Apparently I am the designated baker in the family and for a weekend away with my Mum, sisters and Aunt for my Mum’s Birthday I was roped into making the cake to take with us.  I said on Twitter that I wasn’t sure what to make and apple cake was suggested.  As I had apples in my fruit bowl that needed using I pulled out this recipe book as I recalled that it had a recipe for apple cake and away I went.

On a side note, it’s really annoying when I can remember things like so and so book has this random recipe that I’ve never made before but can’t remember which book recipes that I loved and want to make again are in.  I guess that’s what comes with having so many books, and what makes this blog so useful as I made a Tagine to take along too and knowing I’d made one before I searched the blog and found that it was the one from Vegan With a Vengeance!

The cake was really easy to make, I was a little worried that it was going to fall apart when it came out of the tin as the bottom of it didn’t look like it had held together all that well, but came out just fine and I added the really lovely drizzle over the top.  I was on the phone to my sister whilst putting the drizzle on and we agreed that I would have a sugar rush for a few hours after not eating any sugar for ages and then sampling the cake batter and the drizzle!  We were right and the crash a few hours later was pretty epic, but luckily it was bedtime so I slept it off!

Everyone loved the cake, my Mum sent home some for the boys as they had been quite upset when I told them that it wasn’t for them and they couldn’t have any as I had to take a whole cake for Grandma’s Birthday!  Personally, I found it a little bit greasy, but after questioning everyone else it appears that I wasn the only one who did.  The recipe calls for 1 1/4 cups of oil and I think after not using oil for ages I just notice it a lot more.  If I make this again for the boys and I I’ll reduce the oil quite a bit I think.

Anyway, it was a success and enjoyed by all and it was lovely to be baking again after such a break.  However, I’m back on baking hiatus once more as if I bake it I eat it and I really don’t need to be doing that!

One thought on “Apple Cake

  1. Oh yum! I love the Joy of Vegan Baking and I bet I’d love that cake. Looks like it would be super-moist. On the tracking of good recipes: I have the same problem, but my mom actually keeps a log of her favorite dishes. When she makes something from a book that she likes, she writes it in her log with the book name and page #. She has well over 2,000 cookbooks! So she kinda has to do that…I believe I inherited my cookbook hoarding habits from her, but thankfully, there probably aren’t even 2,000 vegan cookbooks on the market yet. 🙂

So, what do you think?

