Three Bean Soup

I wanted to use up more of that celery and some of the never ending supply of carrots we have so I found this soup recipe and gave it a whirl.

I didn’t change anything except to take out the oil as usual.  The recipe calls for white beans so I pulled out the first ones I found in the freezer which happened to be butter beans.  It also has kidney beans and black beans along with vegetables, stock and herbs.

I served it with bread and it reheated really well for lunches which is always nice.  I’m sure I’ll make this again as the boys enjoyed it too and it was really hearty and a good way to get beans into them.

I have to say that I don’t use 1,000 Vegan Recipes as much as I would like to.  I find the way it’s set out hard to work with.  I understand that there was no way they could give every recipe its own page or it would have been a book you couldn’t even lift (it’s already 612 pages long!), but with so many recipes on each page I am constantly having to search for the one that I’m using while I’m cooking which can be annoying.  I must make more of an effort with it though as I’m sure there are many many wonderful recipes in there that I’ve yet to discover.

2 thoughts on “Three Bean Soup

So, what do you think?

