Soup Is My Favourite Word…

Seriously, I’m not kidding or trying to make a funny, say it to yourself a few times out loud, soup soup soup.  It’s an odd one, makes no sense and just sounds really odd when repeated, and it never fails to make me at least smile!

I make soup at least once a week, usually on a Tuesday so I can buy some nice bread when I do the food shopping to have with it.  This was my first outing with Ripe From Around here, it’s the Simple and Smooth Squash Soup.

I have to say I wasn’t as inspired by this book as I was the first one.  I can’t quite put my finger on why though, probably a combination of not having recipes in it that sound tasty to me and there being quite a few ingredients that I either don’t use or don’t keep on hand.  I’ve had it since it came out as I used the first book quite a bit but I’ve only used it the once so far and it’s not one I pull off the shelf right away when looking for meal inspiration.  Maybe it will grow on me with time, I’ve had books that I didn’t use for ages and then suddenly couldn’t stop cooking from, so I’m not giving up on it totally but it wasn’t the cheapest so it’s a little disappointing not to have used it much yet.

Anyway, due to the fact that I am lazy and sometimes don’t read the recipe thorough fully until I’m actually making the dish I didn’t realise that the squash for this soup was supposed to be roasted first.  As I needed to have dinner on the table 45 minutes later I just skipped that step and cubed the squash and boiled it in the stock and spices until it was done and then added the coconut milk and pureed the whole thing.  I made the curried version which had additional spices to the regular recipe and it was really tasty.  I also left the oil out as per usual and just steam fried the onions.

We all really enjoyed it and the leftovers reheated well for lunches for a few days.  At least I know there is one recipe from the book that I’ll be using again in the future!

5 thoughts on “Soup Is My Favourite Word…

  1. It’s funny how some cookbooks catch your imagination right away and others sit on the shelf. Sometimes I wonder how much impact the layout of the pages has on how appealing the book seems. Some just seem more user-friendly than others.

  2. I’m glad you decided to take that particular soup recipe for a spin – it’s one of my faves and I’ve been enjoying it myself over the past few weeks of cooler weather. Hopefully more recipes from RfaH will grab you over time, and I look forward to hearing about it.

  3. Thank you for recommending this recipe. I also have Ripe from around Here and like you, it doesn’t inspire me much. I’ve tried a couple of things in it, but they are not all mind-blowing. I did love very much the Apple Berry Squares and the Plum Upside-Down Cake, and will make them again. Also, the Love Soup is pretty good.

    Right now, for MoFo, I’m trying one Fall Menu (at the end of the book) once a week to get to know the book better.

  4. I made that recipe last night and I must say it’s a keeper. The spices give it so much taste. And like you, I totally forgot that the squash had to be roasted and seriously, I won’t bother next time, because it’s perfect as it is.

    I’d recommend also the black bean soup, the pad thai and the broccoli arame salad, which are amazing. The pad thai (not the raw one) is to die for, seriously.

So, what do you think?

