Here Come the Questions Again…

I’ve been waiting for the MoFo questionnaires to show up again and this is the first new one I’ve seen.  I answered the old one a couple of times I think so it’s nice to have some new questions.  This one was posted on I Eat Trees and it’s probably more than you ever wanted to know about my eating habits!

What is one food you thought you’d miss when you went vegan, but don’t?

Hate to be cliché but it was cheese.  I ate a lot of cheese, particularly liked interesting not run of the mill cheeses and I was worried about giving them up.  Nowadays the idea of ‘cow cheese’, as my 7 year old calls it, makes me feel a little queasy and I don’t even eat vegan cheese very often so old habits can be broken!

What is a food or dish you wouldn’t touch as a child, but enjoy now?

The only think I really didn’t like as a child was liver and that’s obviously something I wouldn’t touch now either!  My Mother is a great cook and made great meals for the 6 of us when I was a kid.  I didn’t like brussel sprouts very much until I started roasting them.

What vegan dish or food you feel like you “should” like, but don’t?

Anything with tempeh.  People rave about the stuff but I’ve not found a way of cooking it that I enjoy eating.  I generally replace it with tofu.

What beverage do you consume the most of on any given day?

I start the day with a very strong cup of black coffee and then switch over to decaf after that.  I try to drink my 6 glasses of water a day.  Beyond that I’m not much for drinks, I spent a lot of my late teens and 20’s being dehydrated as I’d go all day on a couple of cups of coffee or tea, so the water is a vast improvement!

What dish are you “famous” for making or bringing to gatherings?

I’m the family baker apparently.  If a gathering needs cupcakes, Birthday cake etc then I tend to be asked to make them.  I am doing the Christmas cake this year for the first time ever, slightly worried about that…  However, I am not responsible for decorating or icing things, I make the icing if need be and then hand it over to my older sister for her to deal with.  She will be doing the marzipan and royal icing on the Christmas cake once I’ve made it.

Do you have any self-imposed food rules (like no food touching on the plate or no nuts in sweets)?

Not really, I’m not a fan of sweet and savoury mixed together.  I won’t use dill at all as it’s the work of the devil and I don’t like cloves, another devil’s taste.  I’m happy to try most things though.

I don’t tend to mix things in a mouthful of food, for example if I’m eating potato, seitan and a vegetable I will have a mouthful of potato or of the other things one at a time rather than all of them in the same fork full.  My Mother is the same and so are my kids, we think it comes from her feeding me that way when I was a baby because it was how she ate and then me feeding my kids that way because it was how I ate.

What’s one food or dish you tend to eat too much of when you have it in your home?

Seitan or pasta.  I can eat either of those until I’m fit to burst.  We’re a heavy on the carbs household, my boys love them, so I have to be careful that I’m not eating 3 carb heavy meals a day as if I ate whatever I wanted I’d probably do so.

What ingredient or food do you prefer to make yourself despite it being widely available prepackaged?

Can’t think of anything.  We don’t eat a lot of packaged food.  I guess pizza would be the main thing, I make it from scratch every other week when the boys are with me for the weekend.  Can’t stand pre-made crusts or sauce, ick…  I also don’t buy pasta sauce in a jar, it’s so easy to make why bother spending extra money on it?

What ingredient or food is worth spending the extra money to get “the good stuff”?

Everything.  I buy organic if it’s available and will always spend extra money on getting good food.  I figure I’m growing two humans, what goes into them literally makes their bodies so they deserve the best food I can possibly afford.

Are you much of a snacker?  What are your favorite snacks?

No, I used to be, but I have stopped in the last year or so.  I have never been the kind of parent to give their kids snacks all the time either. They have something after school to tide them over until dinner but that’s it beyond their 3 meals a day.

What are your favorite vegan pizza toppings?

Home made sauce, fresh basil, onions, mushrooms, yellow cherry tomatoes and a little bit of Cheezly mozzarella.  That’s the pizza I’ve been making myself for the past few months, but the cherry tomatoes are now out of season so I’ll have to wait until next year for more to appear in our organic box.

What is your favorite vegetable?  Fruit?

I love mushrooms, could eat them all the time.  I also love butternut squash.  I think the only vegetables I don’t like are celeriac and aubergine (eggplant) though.  I’m not much of a fruit eater, I do have a banana for breakfast most days and the occasional apple but beyond that I’m not fussed with fruit.

What is the best salad dressing?

Bryanna’s Creamy Caesar Dressing, I change the lemon juice for lime and add chipotle Tabasco and it’s wonderful!

What is your favorite thing to put on toasted bread?

Hands down peanut butter, I eat it almost every morning for breakfast, or cashew butter but I have to fight the 3 year old to get any of that.  Usually it’s on a bagel with banana rather than bread though.

What kind of soup do you most often turn to on a chilly day or when you aren’t feeling your best?

Any soup really, the most requested in this house are leek and potato or carrot soup.  I love black bean soup but the boys aren’t always so keen on that one.

What is your favorite cupcake flavor? Frosting flavor?

I don’t eat a lot of sweets and I find frosting far too sweet for me most of  the time.  I have made the Carrot Cake ones with cream cheese frosting from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World several times for my family though and they’re always a winner.

What is your favorite kind of cookie?

I don’t eat cookies, again, lack of sweet tooth…  My boys will only eat digestives from the Co-op, literally turn up their noses at anything else, even if they’re home made or they helped to make them.

What is your most-loved “weeknight meal”?

Pasta bake or fried rice, easy standbys to use up what’s in the fridge!

What is one dish or food you enjoy, but can’t get anyone else in your household to eat?

Oh lord, that happens all the time with 2 young children!  I note in my blog entries what the boys will and won’t eat.  I’m often surprised by what they love, it’s usually the things I think they’ll hate!

How long, in total,  do you spend in the kitchen on an average day?

Let’s see, about half an hour at breakfast time to feed the kids and make their smoothie and get the 7 year old’s lunch ready, quick pass to get the 3 year old his lunch and then to get my lunch after dropping him at school and then an hour to make dinner each night.  So that’s about 2 hours plus on a regular day, longer if I’m doing the pizza dough or baking something.

2 thoughts on “Here Come the Questions Again…

So, what do you think?

