Pasta Bake Saves the Day

No, we didn’t eat pasta two nights in a row, this was actually the leftovers from a few days before when I ate them for lunch.

Besides the fried rice, pasta bake is another dish that I fall back on when I can’t decide what to make for dinner and I have a lot of different kinds of vegetables begging to be used up.

This particular bake had onion, garlic, carrots, mushrooms and cabbage in it along with 2 tins of chopped tomatoes, some herbs and some nutritional yeast.  I just steam fry the vegetables, throw in the tomatoes and a bit of water, tomato puree and the herbs and then mix in what seems like enough pasta and the nutritional yeast and then throw it in the oven, with a lid on, for up to an hour until the pasta is cooked.  I check it after about half an hour to make sure that there’s enough liquid and to give it a stir but besides that it’s a very easy throw it in the oven and forget about it meal.

My kids wolf this down no matter what vegetables I put in it (although Piggle is prone to picking the pasta out and leaving a bowl of vegetables behind) and it’s something we have perhaps every other week, some nights I just don’t feel like cooking and need something quick, mindless and healthy to whip up.

So, what do you think?

