Pasta With White Beans and Cabbage with Rutabega Fries

Here I go again making monochrome meals again…

The pasta is Farfalle with White Beans and Cabbage from Vegan on the Cheap.  I have a huge amount of cabbage in the fridge and wanted to use it up in something the kids might eat.  This was a bit too bland even for them though and needs some serious spicing up in some way.  I used the soy sauce which is suggested in the recipe intro but if I use this recipe again I will be adding probably some red pepper (vegetable, not spice) and maybe some cumin or something like that.

I did discover that Piggle is insane over butter beans which I used instead of the cannellini beans.  He kept asking for more and must have eaten about 30 of them!  Must make sure I keep using them so he doesn’t forget he likes them.

I didn’t use the oil or margarine the recipe called for, just the usual steam frying.

The Rutabaga Fries are from Veggie Burgers Every Which Way and I made them simply because I had two of them in the fridge and wanted to try something new.  I am seriously low on recipes for swede (which is what it’s called over here) and once again there are 2 large ones lurking in the fridge.  If anyone has any suggestions please let me know!

I did use the oil suggested in the recipe for these as I’ve tried roasting vegetables without oil and they just don’t turn out too nicely.  These were really nice to start with and Jim and I wolfed down quite a few, but after a bit the taste just got too strong and we both stopped eating them.  Piggle didn’t like them at all.  I will probably make them again at some point when I’m over run with swede as I tend to be in the winter, maybe repeatedly eating them will get us used to the flavour.

2 thoughts on “Pasta With White Beans and Cabbage with Rutabega Fries

  1. I was actually hesitating between two recipes for tonight’s dinner : this recipe and the linguine pasta with lentils and butternut squash (also from Vegan on the Cheap). I’m definitely going to make the latter! Thanks!

So, what do you think?

