Cooking From Appetite For Reduction

I have a folder full of photos so I guess I should try to catch up and tell you about some of the things I’ve been making!

I dived right into Appetite for Reduction as soon as it arrived and I’ve not been disappointed with it.  Lovely recipes, most are pretty easy to make and the boys have enjoyed most of them too which is always a bonus!

So here’s what I’ve made so far:

Braised Cabbage With Seitan

We all liked this, although Piggle isn’t a fan of cabbage but he tried.  The juice is nice over the potatoes.

Masala Baked Tofu

Jim loves baked tofu, he can eat almost a whole block himself!  I used this for a rice bowl with Miso gravy which both the boys love.  I’ve since done the tofu with a different curry powder and it came out just as nicely.

Mac and Trees

The boys love mac and cheese but getting broccoli into them is always difficult.  I cut it up really small so I think they inadvertently did eat some of it!  I learnt with this photo not to serve yellow food in a green bowl…

Quinoa, White Bean and Kale Stew

This was really tasty but I felt there was too much kale in it so I will cut back when I make it again.  The boys loved all but the kale, especially Piggle who adored the butter beans I used.

Veggie Potpie Stew

I’ve made this twice now and these pictures are from the second time where I actually turned the stew into a pie as the boys wanted pastry.  It’s really tasty and I’ve had the leftovers in a wrap like the recipe suggests which is also lovely.

Kidney Bean and Butternut Jamba Stew

Again, we all liked this.  I cut the squash a bit big and used brown rice so it did take longer to cook but that was expected.

Oven Baked Onion Rings

Jim and I adore onion rings.  We used to have them from Burger King now and again but I learnt a few months back that they cook them in the fryer with the fish so they’re not vegan.  Jim was disappointed not to be able to eat them anymore and he asked if I could make him some when he saw this recipe (both boys flick through the recipe books and ask for stuff, Jim from the writing and Piggle from pictures!).  These were really easy to make  and quick too.  Jim said that these were better than the Burger King ones and thanked me for making them vegan for him.  I think the thanks belongs to Isa though!  These will definitely be made quite a bit in this house!

So that’s one book out of the way, I will try to come back soon with things from other new books that I’ve tried!

3 thoughts on “Cooking From Appetite For Reduction

  1. Good to see you back with some food Anna! That pie looks especially tasty. I love me some pie! And that jamba stew looks like something I would like. Looks like another book going on my wish list. Shame Christmas is so far off. You’re so lucky with your boys being so adventurous about what they eat!

So, what do you think?

