Braised Cabbage, Apples and Potatoes with White Bean Sausages

The weather in England recently has suited this kind of food.  You’d seriously think we were in late September and not early August from the rain and grey days we’ve been having.

This was a lovely meal and I really really enjoyed it.  I’m having the leftovers for dinner tonight and I’m already looking forward to it!

I made a double batch of the White Bean Sausages because I figure if you’re going to go to all the effort to make seitan then you may as well have some to stow in the freezer for later use.  I ended up with about 16 sausages which did mean that I had to steam them for longer as my steamer was packed, must buy a larger one sometime!  The only change I made with the recipe (besides making smaller sausages I should have only had 8 according the recipe) was to leave out the caraway seeds as I’m not a fan of that kind of flavour.  I used butter beans as my white beans as I had them in the freezer and crushed the coriander seeds to spread the flavour a bit.

The braised cabbage was really easy and quick, with the sausages in the freezer I could have this meal on the table in about half an hour now.  Again, I left out the caraway seeds, next time I will crush the coriander seeds in this as they were a little overpowering whole.  I also used stock instead of the beer called for.  I can see that beer would be tasty but I’m feeding an 8-year-old and a 4-year-old who aren’t ready for beer yet so I just used more stock.  I also didn’t have ‘brown mustard’ (is this available in the UK and if so from where?) so I used wholegrain mustard and it worked just fine.

The flavours are really autumny and lovely and I know I’ll be making this again as cabbage is something we get regularly in our organic box, in fact we got another one as big as my head (no, I’m not exaggerating!) this week!

2 thoughts on “Braised Cabbage, Apples and Potatoes with White Bean Sausages

  1. Looks great. I had the appetite for reduction braised cabbage and seitan over a jacket potato tonight so very similar! Definitely not very appropriate for the scorching weather here in Barcelona though…maybe i was thinking of home 🙂

    p.s. no idea about the ‘brown’ mustard. I only ever use dijon or wholegrain.

So, what do you think?

