Curried Split Peas and Sweet Potatoes

I finally found some organic sweet potatoes the other week and not only were they organic but they came from Spain.  I won’t buy non-organic sweet potatoes not only because of the chemicals but because they are imported from America.  That’s one hell of a long way to go for potatoes, sweet or not…  Anyway, once I had them I had to figure out what to make with them and then on a day when we were talking about being an overweight vegan on Twitter (well, not just overweight only on Twitter, the discussion/bitchfest/snarkiness took place on Twitter) Amazon sent me this book!

This is one heck of a book, it not only has 400 recipes but it weighs a ton which I’m sure has its uses.  There is a photograph section in the middle of the book but no other pictures if that sort of thing concerns you in any way.

This is the meal in all it’s orange and yellow glory

I served it with red rice simply because I found a jar of it whilst looking for the green split peas…

This has yellow and green split peas in it and the recipe says to soak them overnight (which I didn’t read until about an hour and a half before we were due to eat).  Anyway, they were fully cooked and fine without the soaking and took less time than the recipe says they need if they’re soaked so don’t worry if you can’t/don’t want to/forget etc.  I used 2 slices of pickled jalapeno as that’s about as hot as my kids can take anything and didn’t add any tamarind as none of my local shops had any.

This was really really tasty, the boys enjoyed it and I really liked it.  It was slightly sweet (it has a little brown sugar, probably to balance out the tamarind if you actually use it) and the split peas work really well with the sweet potatoes.  It also reheated nicely for lunch the next day.  I’ll definitely be using this recipe again and I’m looking forward to trying more of the 399 recipes I’ve not used yet from this book when I have the strength to lift it (seriously, this book is heavier than 1000 Vegan Recipes, it’s a big book).

So, what do you think?

