Braised Sweet and Sour Cabbage with Kidney Beans

I worked my way through the cabbages in the fridge with this very simple dish.  I’ve not used this book in ages which is a shame as there are some real gems in there.

All that’s in this dish is cabbage, kidney beans, onion, stock, vinegar, sugar and salt and pepper.  It took less than half an hour to get together, the brown basmati rice took longer to cook than the cabbage did!  It would work as a side dish too and would be nice with some seitan or sausage added to it I think.

The boys both enjoyed it and so did I, I’m going to try and remember this one for future cabbage overload on a night when I need something simple to make.

2 thoughts on “Braised Sweet and Sour Cabbage with Kidney Beans

  1. I have this cookbook and I just printed out this recipe and was thinking of making it! Really appreciate the review. One question, though: in the recipe she said to saute the onions for something like 30 minutes! And I’m thinking it MUST be a typo!

So, what do you think?

