Carrot Pickles

I’ve had this cookbook on my kitchen counter ever since I read it through and found this recipe weeks ago.  I finally got around to making them while the marrow was baking and they came out really nicely.

Basically they’re pickles using carrots rather than cucumbers and they use balsamic vinegar.  I subbed agave for the honey in the mix and used big carrots cut into pickle sized pieces rather than baby carrots.

All you have to do is boil the carrots in the vinegar and other bits, let them cool and then add a bit more vinegar and stick them in a container.  They lived in a tupperware box until I got to Ikea to buy a mason jar for them and I’ve been snacking on them here and there and they’re really enjoyable.

There are a few other things I’d like to try from this book, must try and remember what they were!

So, what do you think?

