Biscuits and Stir Fry

Nope, I didn’t serve these together but I have 2 photos and neither is really worth an entire post of it’s own so together they go.

I used a recipe from Authentic Chinese Cuisine for this stir fry but what I wanted to show you, dear reader, was the deep fried tofu that I found in the Chinese Supermarket.

It looks kind of odd and it didn’t taste nice at all cold (I like to try things uncooked first to see what they’re like and what they might need me to do to them), but with a sauce and some vegetables they were really nice and the boys and I enjoyed them.  I won’t be buying them often as I only get to the Chinese Supermarket twice a year and we don’t really eat much fried food, but for a change they were great and I’m all for introducing my kids to as many different foods as I can.

Jim had been requesting ‘Minestronian’ soup since we last had it so I made up another batch and some biscuits to go with it.  This recipe is from 500 Vegan Recipes and they were lovely.

However, I am not sure if it was user error (having 2 kids fighting in the background can render counting or remembering how much flour you’ve already put in impossible) or whether the recipe is wrong as they were incredibly wet when I came to try and roll them out.  I worked in some extra flour but they still seemed not right.  They cooked up fine though and the boys loved them (the addition of vital wheat gluten gives them a bready texture) so I will try again and make sure I pay attention to my measuring.

So, what do you think?

