Sweet and Spicy Chili and Cornbread

I was in a bit of a chili rut so I decided to try a new recipe, although saying that this recipe seems familiar and I think I might have made it before and just not noted in the book.  Anywho, we all really enjoyed this version although it won’t go to the top of the rotation as it doesn’t have any vegetables in it.  I can’t quite get my head around a vegan dinner that doesn’t involve vegetables…

I didn’t mind the cinnamon in this dish after slating it in savoury dishes in my last post.  However, there was only 1/2 a tsp in what was enough to serve us two dinners (the rest is in the freezer) so it wasn’t overpowering.  I used half kidney beans and half pinto beans instead of the all kidney as the recipe calls for simply because I only had 1 box (Sainsburys do their vegan pulses in tetrapaks rather than tins) of kidney beans and a ton of pintos in the freezer.  I also subbed some reconstituted tvp for the burger crumbles called for as I didn’t have any.  I just used water to reconstitute and they picked up the flavour of the sauce.

The sweet in this chili, in case you were wondering, is from the fact that a lot of the liquid in it is from apple juice.  Sounds odd but works really well!

I’m trying to find new things to try from 1000 Vegan Recipes as it seems silly to have such a big resource of recipes sitting there and not use it.  This cornbread was really nice, it’s the plain version from the book rather than the sweeter version as I’m not a fan of sweet cornbread, especially as we were having it with sweet chili.  The boys devoured this and Jim took the leftovers for his lunch the next day so we’ll come back to this in the future.

So, what do you think?

