Caramalized Onion-Butternut Roast with Chestnuts

Lauren at Lolly Knitting Around made this casserole and blogged some lovely pictures of it which put mine to shame.  She also made hers the slow food way and roasted her own chestnuts whereas I pulled what was left of the tin of chestnut puree I had stashed in the freezer out and used that instead…  It’s nice to see vegan food on Lauren’s blog as I’ve been reading it for many years because of its knitting content and I believe she’s only gone vegan in the last few years, it’s nice to read blogs where you have more than one thing in common!

Using the leftover puree made this a pretty easy dish to make and it was very tasty and seasonal.  I think the puree probably made it richer than it would have been with pieces of chestnut but the boys enjoyed it which surprised me as I was convinced they’d turn their noses up at it.  Piggle even asked for seconds!

I had a ton of leeks in the fridge so I sautéed some, I kind of wish I’d realised how rich the casserole was going to be as buttered leeks with it was a bit of an overload and I would have just boiled them instead.

All in all a lovely meal and I’m glad I gave it a try.  I admit had I not read the blog post about this I probably never would have noticed the recipe in the book and tried it so thank you Lauren!

One thought on “Caramalized Onion-Butternut Roast with Chestnuts

  1. That recipe is great. I made it once a couple of years ago and I really liked the flavor the chestnuts lent to the plate. I have a bag of ready-to-eat chestnuts in the fridge, and I keep wanting to make this dish again… just need the squash.

So, what do you think?

