Sort of Potpie Filling with Sausage (not quite) Plait

I only used half the sausage meat for the marrow and as I had already defrosted it I thought I would make some sausage rolls from the leftover half and defrosted some short crust pastry as I’d run out of puff (bad girl).  On the menu was the Cauliflower and Mushroom Potpie with Crust (the boys won’t eat olives so I leave them out) from Veganomicon using whatever vegetables were leftover in the fridge.

I never actually got around to making the sausage rolls and at dinnertime when I pulled out the veg I decided to make one huge sausage roll and serve it with the vegetable mix instead.  My plaiting skills leave a lot to be desired but you can see where I was trying to go with the pastry I think.

I’m not sure what I did to the potpie filling as it wasn’t very good.  I think I was distracted and lax with my measurements and also the different mix of vegetables probably didn’t work all that well together.

The boys loved the sausage roll thingy though so I’ll do that again in the future and next time I used the potpie recipe I’ll make sure I’m paying attention and actually using the vegetables it calls for…

So, what do you think?

