Kale Pesto Pasta

I keep seeing all these pesto recipes everywhere and figured I should give one a go.  As I had kale in the fridge and all the other ingredients to hand this one won.

It wasn’t hard to make at all and the pesto was surprisingly fast.  I made half the recipe as that’s all the kale I had and it was plenty with the other ingredients, using a whole recipe would have been too much I think.  I used the same amount of garlic and basil in it though as I’m a big fan of both.

You mix the kale pesto with the pasta (duh!) and some cream cheese and nutritional yeast.  The recipe calls for sesame seeds but I wasn’t in the mood to listen to Jim bitch and complain about them all through dinner and have to watch him attempt to pick them out, life’s too short for that…

The boys both ate this and enjoyed it, funnily enough I was the one who didn’t like it.  I found the kale too strong in flavour and even though I cooked it longer than the recipe said it was still underdone for my tastes.

It’s not often that I’m the fussy one or that a recipe from this book isn’t something I love so I’ll forgive it.

So, what do you think?

