Wild Mushroom and Farro Soup

My mushrooms were decidedly not wild in any way, we only have properly behaved mushrooms in this house.

I read a not so great review of this book, Big Vegan, not too long ago and I have to say that I didn’t agree with it.  I’ve found some lovely things in this book and the recipes that I’ve made have been clearly written and easy to follow.  I must trust it because when it called for me to make my own stock for this soup I didn’t say ‘sod that’ and pull out a mushroom stock cube, but instead pulled the dried mushrooms from the cupboard and got on with it.

The stock part is really easy and I remembered to put a bowl under the strainer and not pour the whole lot down the sink.  So relieved was I that I’d done well that I threw out the reconstituted mushrooms rather than using them in the soup though, you win some you lose some.

I didn’t have farro even though I thought I did so I used wheat grain instead which took a bit longer to cook than the recipe called for.  The only change I made besides that was to sauté the mushrooms before putting them in the stock as I have an aversion to boiled mushrooms.  As I said we used regular mushrooms rather than wild ones too.

We really enjoyed this soup and it would have probably served 5 had I not had to boil it the extra time for the wheat,

So, what do you think?

