Hot Breakfasts from the Slow Cooker

This is Pick-Your-Pleasure Breakfast Rice Pudding which was made with short grain brown rice and almond extract.  This was so lovely that my mouth is actually watering so I’m going to put some on again tonight.  I discovered after adding my almond extract that it was 2 years out of date so I’ve not been able to repeat it until I bought some more which I have now done.  We didn’t add any dried fruit to it and I forgot to buy any dried cranberries so I won’t this time either but it would be nice with vanilla and raisins too I think.

This is Old Fashioned Apple-Raisin Oatmeal from Fresh from the Vegetarian Slow Cooker.  Jim wasn’t keen on this but Piggle and I loved it.  Very simple regular ingredients just thrown in the slow cooker and ready when you get up, can’t beat it!

I add a little more liquid to my breakfasts than the recipes call for as I am usually upstairs longer than 8 hours which is the longer of the cooking times for most of them.  It seems to work out fine that way and not much gets stuck to the sides.

Again from Fresh from the Vegetarian Slow Cooker this is Breakfast Bread Pudding which Jim was really excited about as it contained french bread and sausages, both of which he adores.  It was a really odd combination though, also involving apples, spices and maple syrup and in the end Piggle was the only one who liked it, so much so he had 2 servings 2 days in a row of it!  I’d like to try some other more savoury breakfasts in the future.

I’ve also made Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal a few times from The Vegan Slow Cooker and Piggle and I adore it.

One thought on “Hot Breakfasts from the Slow Cooker

  1. Wow, breakfast bread pudding sounds so delicious. So it was more on the savory side? I;ve been seeing a lot of great recipes for slow cookers and crockpots of late, neither of which I have, but I think I can make something like this. Thanks for the idea.

So, what do you think?

