Random Food Photos

I’m going to post these pictures and empty the ‘food photos’ folder on my computer in the hopes that I will be able to start posting about what I’m cooking again without thinking ‘oh, but I’ve not posted about all those other pictures yet’.  I have no idea what some of these things are any more but obviously they were quite nice or I wouldn’t have saved the pictures!

This new cheese was ok but nothing special.  Also, it didn’t last very long before it went mouldy and I think that if you’re going to make parmesan in a block this big then it should have a long shelf-life once opened.  I won’t be looking for it again as it didn’t really taste all the different from the other Redwood flavours.

Some sort of curry with rice.  I seem to remember this had pumpkin in it, oh yes, I think this is Spinach and Pumpkin Curry from 350 Best Vegan Recipes.  I was a little worried that the book was going to be one of those dull collections of recipes with nothing very interesting to offer but I am happy to report that it has some very nice sounding dishes in it and we’ve enjoyed everything we’ve tried.  This recipe was supposed to be soup but I wanted curry so I left out the stock and reduced the milk a bit so I had the consistency I wanted.  It was lovely and the boys really enjoyed it too.

No clue what this past dish is or where it came from!

Vegetable stew with dumplings.  Generally I make up the stew as I’m going with whatever is in the fridge.  The boys love dumplings and I use a couple of different recipes for them depending on whether I feel like cutting in margarine or not!  There’s seitan in this stew, it might be one I was trying from a slow cooker book, might not though!

This is from How To Cook Everything Vegetarian which is a book I absolutely adore and use all the time.  It’s a huge book and sometimes it can feel like information overload so it’s best to just read about what you need to know right then rather than trying to read it through cover to cover!  It’s such a great book to look up a particular ingredient you want to use, besides the main recipe there are a handful of variations too.  This is Mung Beans and Rice with Dried Apricots combined with the variation Spice Mung Beans and Rice with Carrots.  It was so nice I made it twice with only about a week between and ate the leftovers at every meal until it was gone!  It’s the only time I’ve ever successfully steamed rice and not ended up with it scorched to the pot.

This is from the same book, Whole Wheat Cous Cous with Broccoli and Walnuts, except it’s not whole wheat, it’s just regular cous cous.  There is some extra vegetables thrown in in there as that’s the way I work, I don’t think it’s a meal unless there are at least three kinds of vegetables present!  This was very tasty and I’ll definitely try the main recipe which uses cauliflower and almonds at some point.

This is the Pulled Pork Sammy from The Best Veggie Burgers on the Planet.  This is actually the leftovers from the freezer after we made it the first time.  Jim had been watching a lot of Diners, Drive-ins and Dives and we were interested in pulled pork, plus he loves coleslaw so we gave it a go.  I left out the cayenne as it would have made it too hot and the coleslaw is from Vegan Diner which is the recipe I always use.  I really should try more burgers from this book, there are tons I’d like to have a go at, maybe I’ll let the boys have a look and see what they fancy.

I started making muffins once a week for the boys to have in their lunches as I was tired of putting in shop bought biscuits.  I generally was using the 150 Best Vegan Muffins book which is pretty good although it annoyingly uses soya yoghurt in almost every recipe.  I don’t remember what these are or where they came from though.  My green pepper kitchen timer as seen in the back of this picture has now gone missing and no child who lives here will admit to having taken it…

This is Indian-Spiced Pumpkin Gratin from The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions.  I really need to make my own index to this book as there are tons of great things in there but I can never find them.  I don’t find the organisation works to my kind of logic (it may be logical for the rest of the world though).  I was looking for something else when I stumbled on this recipe and it was lovely.  We love any kind of pasta bake here and this was such a great combination of chickpeas and a coconut sauce along with the pumpkin and spinach.  Must remember to make this again!

I have a feeling that this was a tester for Celine and Tami’s bread book, some sort of savoury loaf.

And finally, this is Thai Chickpea Almond Curry from Let Them Eat Vegan.  The sauce was lovely and creamy as it should be with almond butter in it and the spices were nice (I used curry powder rather than paste as that’s what I keep in).  The only thing I didn’t like about this and will change when I make it again is to reduce the number of lime leaves in it.  I’d never used them before (I have a pack of frozen I got from a Chinese Supermarket) so I put in the 2 that the recipe called for.  It made the dish too floral and the scent of them was pretty overpowering, hopefully halving the number will change that.  The boys really enjoyed this too and the leftovers froze well for lunches.

So, that’s it, I can now try and keep up to date with what I’m making as and when I make it.  I have some stuff I made yesterday to show so hopefully I will be back soon!

So, what do you think?

