Testing Testing 1, 2, 3

While I’ve been away from blogging we’ve done some cookbook testing. The first one was Vegan Food Gifts by Joni Marie Newman,  then we did Wholegrain Vegan Baking by Celine Steen and Tami Noyes and then Fusion Food in the Vegan Kitchen by Joni again which is due out in December. All of them have some amazing recipes in them and I totally recommend them.

At the moment we’re testing for Joni and Gerrie Adams for a book called Going Vegan. Obviously it’s about what it’s title is but for a stater vegan book it has some really interesting and new recipes, not just the really dull boring ones that you normally find in introductory books. They’re showing that vegan food isn’t boring and that there are tons of flavours to try which is so nice to see.

I made the Down Home Country Tofu Scramble the other night using the casserole version (you could also cook it in a frying pan but I’m lazy and if I can throw it in the oven I will). There are potatoes, tofu, onion and some mushrooms in there (should have been greens but mushrooms were what I had on hand so mushrooms were what I used) and then there was some cheese on top. I got distracted after the timer went off, which happens a lot more regularly than it should, so it was a little well done.

005

I think that picture is sideways, sorry. There was also some fake bacon in it. We had it for dinner rather than breakfast and I served it with a tin of baked beans. The recipe says 4-6 servings but it was all gone by the end of the meal, my kids can eat tons at the moment, especially carbs.

006

We really enjoyed it and will be making it again for sure! I’ve just seen there are a ton of new recipes posted for testing so I’d better get printing this weekend and will have more to show you from this book soon!

So, what do you think?

